top of page
Search
  • STAR Project

STAR SHINE BRIGHT

A half moon shaped like crescent Railings, chained up bikes Climbed the 3 steps, passed a black door Into a foyer filled with light I could see my own reflection In the glass that stood ahead I took her hand and took a step Said "don't you be afraid" A quiet calmness, subtle sounds The birds behind me sing unbroken Smell of flowers all around A face appeared, the door was opened I took a step my child in hand I crossed inside beyond the door There's hesitation in her arms And feet stuck to a white tiled floor My reassuring look I give And finally she takes that step We sit on chairs underneath stairs Not knowing quite what to expect Today I found a shining light Who shone across a table Today I found a STAR shine bright Today I found an angel Today I found a new way out I believed the words she spoke Today I know I'll be alright Today an angel gifted hope A white door into open space Windows tall with green surrounds Colour filled the fireplace We walk on sandy shades of brown I take the lead to sit her down To throws that cover sea sharp blue Her eyes fixated on the ground We take a seat enough for two I wondered then if I'd be able To even speak without voice freeze I glanced across the lowered table Where was quickly put at ease With quiet reassuring kindness Every word she said was spoken In sympathy and true mindfulness For she could see that I was broken A look of understanding eyes Compassion etched upon the face The power of that word survive Delivered with resounding faith Each line subsiding fear I felt My child then lifted up her gaze

She realised that we'd found help And showed herself, for she felt safe Today I found a shining light Who shone across a table Today I found a STAR shine bright Today I found an angel Today I found a new way out I believed the words she spoke Today I know we'll be alright Today an angel gifted hope Hope, a word that looks quite small A word only four letters long Sitting there it made me tall Now sitting here, It makes me strong Today's the 24th of May It's been a day that's changed my life I walked away small book in hand My favourite colour that will guide And as I leave we shall return To this space where STAR shine bright Armed with what my heart had yearned Darkness turning into light Passed glass doors, black door, down steps My child turned quietly and spoke To voice that she had no regret Today an angel gifted hope Today I found a shining light Who shone across a table Today I found a STAR shine bright Today I found an angel Today I found a new way out I believed the words she spoke Today I know she'll be alright Thank you, for gifting hope.


Love

Parent of a Child Survivor



'Star Shine Bright' is written by a mother who accompanied her daughter to Edinburgh Rape Crisis Centre for support. This beautiful and hopeful poem gives voice to the powerful, life changing and life saving work delivered by our STAR Project for young survivors.


“To STAR, My child didn't want to live anymore before STAR offered help. The journey is long and still hard, it continues, but my child now smiles again. Thank you Hannah, Mairi, Eveline and all the STAR project team, for helping her to live, and helping me, her mum, to guide and be by her side. Forever grateful, eternally hopeful, you are forever in my heart. Thank you all."

 

Our STAR project offers confidential, emotional and practical support to young people, including all members of the trans community and non-binary people, aged 12 to 18 in Edinburgh and the Lothians, who have experienced rape, sexual assault, sexual abuse, sexual bullying or circulating an intimate picture without your consent.


Find out more about STAR here.

261 views

Recent Posts

See All
Who we are
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
Stay safe online
Contact us

Edinburgh Rape Crisis Centre offers free and confidential support, information and advocacy to all survivors aged 12 and over in Edinburgh, East and Midlothian, who have experienced sexual violence at any time in their lives.

 

For more information about our work and our services, visit our website

If you're seeking support, please visit our support page

Rape Crisis Scotland helpline: 08088 010302. Open 5pm-midnight, everyday.

 

Email our support service: support@ercc.scot

 

Worried about someone finding out you have visited this website? See Scottish Women's Aid's guidance on keeping yourself safe online

bottom of page