top of page
Search
  • Emily

I Am Blessed To Have Met You

We are privileged to be sharing this beautiful poem written by Emily about her counselling journey at Edinburgh Rape Crisis Centre.


I arrived a trampled plant,

That believed itself a weed.

So pressed into the soil

I believed that dark was all

I'd ever see.


She is a gasp of colour;

A rainbow after rain;

Heart (skip beat) pink

To bless the eyes and bring

Such joyous awe.


I came with tears and pleas

For strength to speak my truth;

To harden lines in sand, so often

Kicked away, and she gifted laughter

For each tear.


She is the dream of Atlas –

Lifting, lifting! my own strength

Until that world of guilt

Could be hurled to space

Where it belongs.


Each week, she showed me

Scraps of colour, folded

Carefully, tucked

Into pockets of my soul

Long overlooked.


I arrived a trampled plant

That believed itself a weed;

She taught me to unfurl

Origami leaves, and I

Have left a tree.


Emily

27 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Who we are
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
Stay safe online
Contact us

Edinburgh Rape Crisis Centre offers free and confidential support, information and advocacy to all survivors aged 12 and over in Edinburgh, East and Midlothian, who have experienced sexual violence at any time in their lives.

 

For more information about our work and our services, visit our website

If you're seeking support, please visit our support page

Rape Crisis Scotland helpline: 08088 010302. Open 5pm-midnight, everyday.

 

Email our support service: support@ercc.scot

 

Worried about someone finding out you have visited this website? See Scottish Women's Aid's guidance on keeping yourself safe online

bottom of page