top of page
Search
  • Maria Stoian

Take it as a Compliment


Rape culture is a present part of our society, an ongoing problem right in front of us. To ignore it is not an option. Often we seem to expect the people on the receiving end of a problem to fix it. We expect the oppressed to convince the oppressors that the problem even exists. Survivors of sexual assault often have to constantly fight to simply live with the trauma. To them, speaking out is more than a challenge, because repeatedly and loudly voicing the issue might jeopardize their own healing. As bystanders, the rest of us can be in a better position to speak out about sexual violence. Taking action is easier when it doesn’t trigger traumatic experiences.

Take it as a Compliment is a graphic novel comprised of twenty anonymous stories from survivors of sexual violence. Take it as a Compliment was the result of my own built-up anger about rape culture. I realised that survivors were willing to share their experiences with me, given the right context. It was a collaboration between people determined to do something to spread the word that real people were suffering the consequences of silence around the issue. Most of the stories in the book were sent in digitally, but a few people opted to share their stories with me in person.When I started working on Take it as a Compliment, I wanted to dive right into it, but that meant a lot of preparation.

One of the first things I did was sign up for the “Working with the impacts of trauma from sexual violence” training course at Edinburgh’s Rape Crisis Centre. I knew this course would help give me context for talking with survivors. I knew about triggers and I knew that I didn’t want to have any influence on how a story was told. The course was an important part of how I managed the distance I would have in interviews. Survivors were sharing what could have been the most terrifying moments of their lives, and in that situation, I often found myself wanting to help – but I wasn’t a counsellor or social worker. Take it as a Compliment was (and is) my way of helping. If survivors didn’t get something out of it, there was no point in making it.

I went into Take it as a Compliment planning for it to be for survivors and bystanders. Now that the graphic novel is published and out there, it’s a bit comforting for me personally to know that the people who submitted stories anonymously have a chance to see it finished.

__________________________________________________________________________

Maria Stoian is a graphic designer and illustrator based in Scotland. She is interested in the way illustration and games can be a non-aggressive way of encouraging people to recognise when they might be biased. Take It As A Compliment was Maria's Master's project at Edinburgh College of Art.

80 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Who we are
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
Stay safe online
Contact us

Edinburgh Rape Crisis Centre offers free and confidential support, information and advocacy to all survivors aged 12 and over in Edinburgh, East and Midlothian, who have experienced sexual violence at any time in their lives.

 

For more information about our work and our services, visit our website

If you're seeking support, please visit our support page

Rape Crisis Scotland helpline: 08088 010302. Open 5pm-midnight, everyday.

 

Email our support service: support@ercc.scot

 

Worried about someone finding out you have visited this website? See Scottish Women's Aid's guidance on keeping yourself safe online

bottom of page