top of page
Search
  • Linz

The Importance of Support

​​​​

I planned on continuing as I had been doing. Repressing, ignoring, denying. However, my body had other ideas; ideas which could not be ignored.

I had always suffered with horrendous periods that would render me crippled for days. I remember lying on the bathroom floor, writhing with pain and that was when I was awake; my iron levels would become so depleted I would be subject to blackouts and dizziness. I justified these episodes as ‘natural’ or ‘genetic’. My mother’s side of the family had always suffered with similar experiences; it was just the way it was. Years later, having moved to Edinburgh for postgraduate study I began to recognise that my episodes were anything but normal. My life up until that point had provided challenges; I had been sexually assaulted at the age of 18, but my body was acting in unpredictable ways. Following a life changing diagnosis, I was told by a consultant in no uncertain terms that I needed to seek professional support; otherwise I was risking my life. I came to Edinburgh Rape Crisis Centre (ERCC) about a year later. I was hesitant. It meant a huge amount of emotional work which whilst finishing a Masters was no mean feat. However the support I received from the Centre was overwhelming. From the first person I spoke with, to the counsellor I was allocated I experienced nothing but warmth, compassion and understanding. The centre itself embodies and reflects all of these qualities; it is a little sanctuary nestled amongst the bustle of Edinburgh’s evolving landscape. I decided in 2014 that I wanted to give something back. Currently I am about to embark upon a career in clinical psychology, I have been fortunate enough to travel to and explore incredible places, shaping wonderful friendships along the way. My story is not solely about me as an individual, it focuses also on the individuals that have loved, supported and guided me to the position I am now.

I wanted to organise something that was people focused, community driven and provided a safe and empowering environment. After many discussions ‘Wheelie Extravaganza’ was formed. Originally, we aimed to cycle from John O’Groats to Edinburgh in a relay fashion, allowing people to join at different, convenient points. Logistically however, this activity would be financially challenging and we wanted to provide an event that was accessible for all. Our fundraising thus far has consisted of arts based events that aim to empower, motivate and provide a huge amount of enjoyment for all involved. So far we have conducted music events at Edinburgh based venues and raised over £1,400 while raising awareness of sexual violence. Our future plans involve art exhibitions, food based events and comedy and with further planning, a cycle ride. I am incredibly grateful to ERCC and will continue to support them through raising awareness and much needed funds. If you would like to learn more or get involved with Wheelie Extravaganza, please visit our JustGiving page or text BIKE39 £(amount) to 70070 to donate directly to the Centre.

35 views

Recent Posts

See All
Who we are
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
Stay safe online
Contact us

Edinburgh Rape Crisis Centre offers free and confidential support, information and advocacy to all survivors aged 12 and over in Edinburgh, East and Midlothian, who have experienced sexual violence at any time in their lives.

 

For more information about our work and our services, visit our website

If you're seeking support, please visit our support page

Rape Crisis Scotland helpline: 08088 010302. Open 5pm-midnight, everyday.

 

Email our support service: support@ercc.scot

 

Worried about someone finding out you have visited this website? See Scottish Women's Aid's guidance on keeping yourself safe online

bottom of page